VBOAT logo

Who Is The Best American Idol Winner?

american idol logo

American Idol is one of the most iconic reality TV shows of all time and has left an unforgettable mark on the entertainment industry. Premiering on June 11, 2002, a date that will live in infamy, on FOX, the show was created by Simon Fuller and was part of the British series “Pop Idol.”

The show’s premise is to discover the next singing sensation, with contestants from all over the United States competing in a series of auditions, performances, and live shows. A panel of judges, the audience’s votes, and host Ryan Seacrest’s charismatic presentation have all contributed to the show’s widespread appeal. Ok enough reminiscing..for now. Let’s get down to business: who is the best American Idol winner of All Time? Let’s vote.

Season (Year) Winner Runner-up
Season 1 (2002) Kelly Clarkson Justin Guarini
Season 2 (2003) Ruben Studdard Clay Aiken
Season 3 (2004) Fantasia Barrino Diana DeGarmo
Season 4 (2005) Carrie Underwood Bo Bice
Season 5 (2006) Taylor Hicks Katharine McPhee
Season 6 (2007) Jordin Sparks Blake Lewis
Season 7 (2008) David Cook David Archuleta
Season 8 (2009) Kris Allen Adam Lambert
Season 9 (2010) Lee DeWyze Crystal Bowersox
Season 10 (2011) Scotty McCreery Lauren Alaina
Season 11 (2012) Phillip Phillips Jessica Sanchez
Season 12 (2013) Candice Glover Kree Harrison
Season 13 (2014) Caleb Johnson Jena Irene
Season 14 (2015) Nick Fradiani Clark Beckham
Season 15 (2016) Trent Harmon La'Porsha Renae

Who Is The Best American Idol Winner?

Need A Refresher? Brief Blurb About American Idol Seasons

American Idol is a beloved singing competition show that has launched the careers of many successful artists. Premiering in 2002, the series has become an iconic part of American television.

Season 1

The groundbreaking debut season of “American Idol” set the stage for a cultural phenomenon. Kelly Clarkson, the first winner, quickly became a household name.
  • Season 1 Winner: Kelly Clarkson

Season 2

Season 2 brought more talent and excitement, with Ruben Studdard emerging as the winner in a memorable finale against Clay Aiken.
  • Season 2 Winner: Ruben Studdard

Season 3

In Season 3, Fantasia Barrino’s powerful voice and unique style earned her the crown, while Diana DeGarmo was the runner-up.
  • Season 3 Winner: Fantasia Barrino

Season 4

Carrie Underwood’s victory in Season 4 marked the beginning of her incredible career in country music.
  • Season 4 Winner: Carrie Underwood

Season 5

Taylor Hicks won Season 5 with his soulful performances, standing out in a highly competitive field.
  • Season 5 Winner: Taylor Hicks

Season 6

Jordin Sparks, the youngest winner at the time, took home the title in Season 6, defeating Blake Lewis.
  • Season 6 Winner: Jordin Sparks

Season 7

David Cook’s versatility and musicianship helped him win Season 7, in a close contest with David Archuleta.
  • Season 7 Winner: David Cook

Season 8

Season 8 was marked by Kris Allen’s surprising win over the widely favored Adam Lambert.
  • Season 8 Winner: Kris Allen

Season 9

Lee DeWyze’s consistent performances helped him secure the victory in Season 9, against Crystal Bowersox.
  • Season 9 Winner: Lee DeWyze

Season 10

The young and talented Scotty McCreery won Season 10, with Lauren Alaina as the runner-up.
  • Season 10 Winner: Scotty McCreery

Season 11

Season 11 was a memorable one, with Phillip Phillips taking home the title.
  • Season 11 Winner: Phillip Phillips

Season 12

Candice Glover’s stunning voice earned her the victory in Season 12, against Kree Harrison.
  • Season 12 Winner: Candice Glover

Season 13

Caleb Johnson’s rock-infused performances led him to win Season 13, against Jena Irene.
  • Season 13 Winner: Caleb Johnson

Season 14

Nick Fradiani’s charm and vocal prowess helped him win Season 14, with Clark Beckham finishing second.
  • Season 14 Winner: Nick Fradiani

Season 15

Trent Harmon won the final season before the show’s hiatus, with La’Porsha Renae as the runner-up.
  • Season 15 Winner: Trent Harmon