VBOAT logo

What Is Judy Blume's Best Children's Book?

judy blume signing books

Judy Blume is a highly acclaimed children’s and young adult author known for her candid portrayal of young people’s experiences and emotions. Her works have been groundbreaking in that they address issues often considered taboo in children’s literature and previously unspoken and unwritten about prior. Judy Blume changed all of that.

Born on February 12, 1938, in Elizabeth, New Jersey, Judy Blume began her writing career in the 1960s. She has since written numerous books for children, young adults, and adults, addressing themes like friendship, family, puberty, and more challenging topics such as racism, divorce, and sexuality. Her books have sold over 85 million copies and have been translated into more than 30 languages. Most of them groundbreaking, all of them worth reading, but if you were to recommend one Judy Blume book to a child, which would it be?

*Please note that the following table and subsequent poll only include Judy Blume’s Children’s books and not her YA books which will be a separate poll.

Year Title
1969 The One in the Middle Is the Green Kangaroo
1970 Iggie's House
1972 Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing
1972 Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great
1974 The Pain and the Great One
1974 Blubber
1977 Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself
1978 Freckle Juice
1980 Superfudge
1990 Fudge-a-Mania
2002 Double Fudge

What Is Judy Blume's Best Children's Book?

The One in the Middle Is the Green Kangaroo

Judy Blume’s debut, “The One in the Middle Is the Green Kangaroo,” is a touching exploration of a middle child’s search for identity. The protagonist, Freddy, grapples with feeling overshadowed by his siblings. His sense of individuality is eventually realized when he secures a role in a school play, shedding light on the idea that everyone has a unique place in the world.
  • Year Released: 1969

Iggie’s House

In “Iggie’s House,” Blume tackles the heavy themes of racism and prejudice. The story revolves around Winnie, whose world is turned upside down when her best friend, Iggie, relocates and an African American family takes residence in her former home. This change stirs unrest in their predominantly white neighborhood, prompting crucial discussions on acceptance and understanding.
  • Year Released: 1970

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

One of Blume’s most iconic works, “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing,” delves into the comical yet relatable challenges faced by Peter Hatcher due to his mischievous younger brother, Fudge. Through Peter’s eyes, readers are treated to a heartfelt narrative on sibling relationships and growing up.
  • Year Released: 1972

Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great

This novel shifts the spotlight to Sheila Tubman from “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing.” “Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great” uncovers Sheila’s vulnerabilities and fears as she embarks on a summer away from her familiar surroundings. It’s a testament to self-discovery and overcoming personal obstacles.
  • Year Released: 1972

The Pain and the Great One

Diving deep into the complexities of sibling relationships, “The Pain and the Great One” offers dual perspectives of a brother and sister, each perceiving the other as the golden child. Blume masterfully captures the intricacies of sibling rivalry and the underlying bond that ties family together.
  • Year Released: 1974


“Blubber” stands out as a profound exploration of school bullying and peer dynamics. Readers follow Jill and her peers as they navigate the treacherous waters of ridicule and peer pressure, providing valuable insights into the consequences of succumbing to groupthink.
  • Year Released: 1974

Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself

Blume offers a semi-autobiographical journey with “Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself.” Post World War II, young Sally uses her vivid imagination as a lens to perceive and interpret her surroundings, artfully highlighting the resilience and creativity of youth.
  • Year Released: 1977

Freckle Juice

“Freckle Juice” is a delightful tale that orbits around Andrew’s fervent desire to have freckles. His ensuing misadventures in pursuit of a freckle concoction are both hilarious and enlightening, emphasizing the idea that beauty and worth come from within.
  • Year Released: 1978


Blume continues the narrative of the Hatcher family in “Superfudge.” With the introduction of a new family member, the dynamics shift, painting a realistic picture of family adjustments and the ever-present challenge of embracing change.
  • Year Released: 1980


In “Fudge-a-Mania,” Blume takes readers on a hilarious vacation with the Hatchers. With a perfect blend of humor and heartfelt moments, the story encapsulates the essence of family vacations, replete with trials, tribulations, and unforgettable memories.
  • Year Released: 1990

Double Fudge

“Double Fudge” showcases young Fudge’s growing fascination with money and the complications arising from unexpected family visits. It’s an engaging take on childhood obsessions and the unpredictable nature of family ties.
  • Year Released: 2002